Wednesday, November 18, 2009

The Bible

he Bible contains a collection of religious texts that are central to Judaism and Christianity.[1] Modern Judaism generally recognizes a single set of canonical books known as the Tanakh, or Hebrew Bible, as it is written almost entirely in the Hebrew language, with some small portions in Aramaic.[2][3] It is traditionally divided into three parts: the Torah ("teaching" or "law"), the Nevi'im ("prophets"), and the Ketuvim ("writings"). Christianity recognises as canonical the books of the Tanakh, in a different order, as the Old Testament. In Roman Catholicism and Eastern Orthodoxy, additional books, called the Deuterocanonical, are included, which Protestantism regards as apocryphal. All Christians also recognise the New Testament, a collection of early Christian writings that consists of the Gospels, the Acts of the Apostles, the Epistles, and the Apocalypse. There exist New Testament apocrypha which have not been generally recognised.

No comments:

Post a Comment